The July-August issue of Veranda magazine has a stunning article about a restored ruin in Provence. My jaw drops in awe.  I keep pausing to read sentences aloud to Jean-Michel, and flipping back and forth among the photos.  (Unfortunately, they don’t have the article online, so I can’t show the pictures here.)  In the hilltop town of Luberon, an American couple bought a ruin that was originally an 11th century rampart tower but was expanded during the following seven centuries, and rebuilt the surviving structure into a usable modern home, while also keeping it as authentic as possible to its origins. It took ten years to complete. Things I love that could easily be adapted into a Stateside home: weathered terracotta floor tiles, patterned ceramic tiles for a kitchen backsplash, Le Cluny range, daybed covered with vintage textiles.

Since I can’t share article photos, how about some new products from I Dream of France instead? We just got in  handpainted ceramic soap dishes with scalloped edges that would add Provençal panache beside any sink. Don’t forget to put some French soap inside.

Oval Ceramic Soap Dish with Lavender Flowers and Honey Soap from I Dream of France

Oval Ceramic Soap Dish with Lavender Flowers and Honey Soap from I Dream of France

Yellow Oval Ceramic Soap Dish with Olives from I Dream of France

Yellow Oval Ceramic Soap Dish with Olives from I Dream of France

Oval Ceramic Soap Dish with Lavender Flowers from I Dream of France

Oval Ceramic Soap Dish with Lavender Flowers from I Dream of France

–Brett

